Recent Posts

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Auction Talk / Re: Always Looking For Something Different
« Last post by tubaman on Today at 07:09:03 AM »
Well found @FABphones, so not a 164 type at all then.
Looks more like a variation on the earlier STC 2724 'Antwerp' handset (https://www.britishtelephones.com/stc2724.htm)
Here's my one for reference - similar but not exactly the same.

The diode will reduce the ringing current even with the cap across, and voice will work well, the cheap Ericsson solution just puts out 48V at network frequency  (here we have 50 Hz) and that rings not well on ringers with gongs.   The diode is for as much as possible block ringing current, but the capacitor reduce that effect in hence to not lower the voice signal, maybe the cap. is not needed?
(And yes low activity from me during the last 1/2 year, changed job and its fun, but lots to do. I have been a teacher for 20 years, and now I am kinda janitor + teacher in a new school in a 100 years old building. (Same pay)  My old headmaster and I could not agree in whats safe fire protection, and when I asked the fire-dept. and they said I was right..... I got this job with a great headmaster that wanted a safe school.  :)   )

dsk
You could have a, "Dead Ringer", Hee Hee???
Have you checked the resistance of the coils?
Not sure what they are on that one, but one could be bad???
Or a broken wire???
Dear Martin, I tried this with this phone and moving the Black wire to L1 does not make the ringer work, thanks for the input tho
Move the black ringer wire to L1 (where the green hookswitch wire is in picture).

Connect green line cord wire to L1 and  red line cord to L2  (where the yellow and slate (gray) hookswitch wires and the red ringer wire are).
What I have attached is a hypothesis, this phone is wired exactly as the "500C and D Telephone Sets Connections".