News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Antique Vtg American Bell Telephone Co Wall Telephone Receiver Ringer Box

Started by Stubbypylon, October 27, 2018, 04:16:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Stubbypylon

This is a cobbled phone in case anyone was considering bidding.  While it has a rare and early speaking tube transmitter, unfortunately someone has removed the 6 digit banana tag and put a 225 tag.  the side is marked Prop. of American Bell but it looks like the door is marked WE (very faint but that's what I think it says).  The box is not a speaking tube box.  The transmitter hole has a gap that can also be seen from the front.

https://www.ebay.com/itm/253941232148
Craig Stanowski

Fabius

First a disclaimer: I am not an expert on early Bell sets. At first glance I thought it was some type of 293 set. But I see it's marked TYPE 128A on the inside of the door. I'm out of town so I can't look up what is a TYPE 128A.

The number tag on the transmitter is in a font I have not seen on a tag before. But notice that the number 2 on the tag seems to match the font of the number 2 on the face plate.
Tom Vaughn
La Porte, Indiana
ATCA Past President
ATCA #765
C*NET 1+ 821-9905

Stubbypylon

Tom, I'm no expert on early bell sets either, but I do have a speaking phone.  The transmitter banana tags on the speaking phones were numbered 6 digits like the later 7 digit transmitters.  To me the 128A looks like an interphone of some sort which would make sense since they had flush transmitters like that.
Craig Stanowski

Sargeguy