"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Subset Question

Started by karlm, July 29, 2016, 01:38:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

karlm

Hello,

I'm new to the world of old phones.  I recently picked up a WE 202 along with a 634 subset.  The phone and subset seem to be working well.  I can dial out and receive calls.  My question is, when I dial numbers I get a slight ring out of the subset with each number I dial.  Is this normal or is there a possibility something may need adjusting?  Thanks for any help.

Karl

poplar1

The clapper should not touch either gong while the phone is not ringing. Should have at least 1/32" air gap.
The biasing spring may be missing from your subset.
Try reversing the polarity of the line: if L1 has red wire from wall jack and L2-Y has green, try green to L1 and red to L2.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

unbeldi

Quote from: karlm on July 29, 2016, 01:38:30 PM
Hello,

I'm new to the world of old phones.  I recently picked up a WE 202 along with a 634 subset.  The phone and subset seem to be working well.  I can dial out and receive calls.  My question is, when I dial numbers I get a slight ring out of the subset with each number I dial.  Is this normal or is there a possibility something may need adjusting?  Thanks for any help.

Karl