News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

WE 202 Dialer question

Started by winkydink, October 22, 2008, 04:46:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

winkydink

I am a total newbee to antique/classic phones.  I recently purchased a Western Electric 202 with an F1 handset and a subset box (not sure of the model).

When connected the phone has a dial tone and will also ring and I can talk over it.  I cannot however consistenly dial out from it.  I would say my success rate is about 1 in 10.

I have confirmed with verizon that pulse dialing will work on my phone.  I have attached some other older phones (touch tone with pulse dialing option) to my phone line and have successfully and constistently dial out using those phones (I have heard the pulses emitted from those phones and verified that it did not use any touch tone)

I am left to conclude that the dialer is not working properly on the phone.

Is this something that through use will work itself out?
Is this repairable by a beginner or will the phone/dialer need to be refurbished/replaced.
Is it a wiring problem ??

Any ideas about where to begin would be appreciated.

Thanks

-Winkdink

Mark Stevens

Quote from: winkydink on October 22, 2008, 04:46:25 AM
I am a total newbee to antique/classic phones.  I recently purchased a Western Electric 202 with an F1 handset and a subset box (not sure of the model).

When connected the phone has a dial tone and will also ring and I can talk over it.  I cannot however consistently dial out from it.  I would say my success rate is about 1 in 10.

I have confirmed with verizon that pulse dialing will work on my phone.  I have attached some other older phones (touch tone with pulse dialing option) to my phone line and have successfully and consistently dial out using those phones (I have heard the pulses emitted from those phones and verified that it did not use any touch tone)