News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Help!

Started by carly28, February 18, 2012, 06:16:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

carly28

Hi everyone, my names Carly I'm totally new to this so please be gentle with me  ;D

I have always loved these types of telephones and have always wanted to own one but never have for fear of people thinking I'm a bit strange. I guess now that there is a bit of a trend for vintage "shabby chic" items, it looks like I have jumped on the vintage bandwagon but anyway thats by the by. I have always loved how they look and sound and have longed to own one for as long as I could remember, and I am now 27.

I was searching on Etsy one day and came across what was listed as a vintage 70's rotary dial telephone in cream. It doesnt say in the listings wether it works or not, but by the pics it looked in an ok condition and I thought it would look nice in my bedroom. For the phone and shipping to the UK it worked at at just under £23, or aprox $35.

I recieved it today and upon opening it, I was pretty disappointed to find that the plastic body and much of the handset had gone that awful Nicotene yellow. I cleaned it up with a disinfectant spray (mainly because I wanted to know it had no germs on it lol). Then I sat staring at it for a while wondering how the hell I was going to get it back to its original colour. I searched google and came up with a few things, but these were for mainly restoring white plastic, not cream. I am a little concerned that I may end up doing more damage than good to the plastic. I am not sure if the ringer works either as the part that actually connects into the wall is apparantly (so my husband says) more like an Internet connector than a BT phone one. I didnt think they would be different but I have now been proved wrong!