"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Automatic Electric 40 - not ringing

Started by Fennec, August 21, 2017, 08:47:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fennec

Hello:

I came into possession of an AE40. Looks good overall, dials out, receives calls, a bit "crackly" so might need a bit of contact cleaning. One problem right off the bat though - it won't ring.

As stated before, I am new to this, so question to the forum - what should I start looking at first? I have took a picture of the ringer (stamped 440C at the base) - is this by any chance the dreaded "frequency tuned" ringer? If so - what are my options? Are there other ringers available for it?

Advice and pointers appreciated.

Dmitri

TelePlay

That's a 33.3 Hz frequency ringer.

It's stated on the enclosed wiring diagram and the physical parts of the ringer (plate attached to a reed, large hammer and coil label marked 33.3 Hz) confirm that.

poplar1

This is a 33.3~ (Hertz) ringer. You may want to look for a Straight Line ringer.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Fennec

Darn... Thank you, this is what I suspected  :-\ ... Quick search on eBay did not yield any matches, but I will keep looking.
Searching the forum, found an older post by you, poplar1 - is this the type I have to look for? Or are there any alternatives?

TelePlay

Quote from: Fennec on August 21, 2017, 09:34:32 PM
Darn... Thank you, this is what I suspected  :-\ ... Quick search on eBay did not yield any matches, but I will keep looking.
Searching the forum, found an older post by you, poplar1 - is this the type I have to look for? Or are there any alternatives?

Yes, most old straight line ringers have that bias spring.

Frequency ringers never have that spring.