"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Early SC 1212 fatboy features?

Started by cloyd, November 01, 2016, 02:28:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cloyd

Hello all!

I have been looking for a 1212, fatboy for a while now and I would like to know what an authentic one would have been issued with from the factory.  What do the codes printed on the bottom mean?  I really like the "horse hoof" handset as someone on ebay called it.  Is there a model number for that handset?  What date range was that used?  Did SC use AE dials?  Seems like that is what I am seeing in the photographs but I am no expert!  Parts seem hard to come by too.  Is there any other advice you can give me?

Thank you,
Tina Loyd
-- I am always doing what I cannot do yet, in order to learn how to do it. - Van Gogh -- 1885

rdelius

Earlier sets have the older handset ,not the handset on the 1222-1243.Older sets have an AE dial in many cases.SC did not build dials until later and they are not as good quality and do not fit the dial mounting hole well.1212 sets are fragile,esp the cradle and might have a tuned ringer.

unbeldi

The SC-1212 came with the Type 15 handset that has a 'spit cup' on the transmitter.
The type of dial could be specified by customers. Available were the standard AE dial, or a Western/Northern Electric dial.

PS: I attached the page from a 1942 catalog, in case you don't have this already. It should give you a good overview.

poplar1

Quote from: unbeldi on November 01, 2016, 03:29:24 PM
The SC-1212 came with the Type 15 handset that has a 'spit cup' on the transmitter.
Quote from: rdelius on November 01, 2016, 03:19:54 PM
Earlier sets have the older handset ,not the handset on the 1222-1243.