"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Looking for a way to fill a crack in bakelite

Started by Phonesrfun, September 20, 2009, 09:59:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phonesrfun

This is for my K900 Masterphone.

I have a correct handset, but the only problem is that it was cracked.  The metal conductors inside are pretty stout and served to keep the handset in one piece but loose.  I filled it with super glue and sanded it pretty smooth, but each time I think I have the crack filled in, the sanding winds up taking some of it back.  I am probably going to need to paint this handset anyway, so I am about to try automotive spot putty which has worked on these kinds of things in the past.

Before I wander down to the nearest NAPA, does anyone have any other suggestions?

-Bill Geurts
-Bill G

Dennis Markham

Sorry, nothing from me Bill.  I have no experience with Bakelite repair.  I have heard of JB weld but that would be better for a repair inside the housing or somewhere else where it wouldn't  be seen.

Jester

I've had good results from JBWeld.  Make sure your break is clean and that you resist the temptation to buy JBKWIK.  The cure time is much faster, but the bonding ability is horrible.  I get great results from regular JBWeld with an overnight cure.  Just be careful not to "bridge" between your metal conductors-- I'm not too sure this stuff is nonconductive.
Stephen

JorgeAmely

Bill:

Cut a groove (or V shaped trench) with a Dremel tool. Fill it with JB Weld. Let it sit for a couple of days under the hot sun. Sand progressively to even out with the Bakelite. Prime and ready to paint.
Jorge

Phonesrfun

Jorge: