News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Looking for Info on a Woodie with a Coin Collector

Started by Doug Rose, March 01, 2023, 01:12:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doug Rose

I have seen these in the past, but the Coin Collector looks just too NEW to be real. It has a repro MP.

N4T7F on inside of door. Date maybe 2/48 too hard to read.

Any insight on this?....thanks...Doug
Kidphone

rdelius

coin collector is old with new instruction s

rdelius

Northern Electric set and it could be 1948

Doug Rose

Robby...is there a chance that this the real deal and not just a put together coin collector on a Woodie? I have zero knowledge on how they would work...Doug
Kidphone

Payphone installer

Number 11 gray with a repro card and a transmitter stuck on the front. Early collector as it has a smooth drawer.

Doug Rose

Thanks Jim.....Way out of my league here.

Cost as much to send it to me than to buy it. I was amazed it got sent after three days waiting, figured for sure someone would offer more.

Should have it Saturday...fingers crossed.....Doug
Kidphone

rdelius

I suspect it was added to the wooden telephone later because of the reproduction parts and the reproduction wooden shelf on the telephone. Not sure if older canadian coins would work or not.

Doug Rose

I finally received the payphone today, it was lost for four days.

Bad news...it was packed horribly just sliding back and forth in the light box with styrofoam which became little dots and cut up boxes NO heavy duty bubble.

Hookswitch bent, broken receiver cap, bent transmitter extender, shelf ripped off the phone and shredded thankfully underneath back, worst was the key was bent and it does not move.

Good news is after a repair of the shelf, bending the hookswitch back, carefully  :o  and a coat of Howards Dark Walnut it looks presentable.