"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Western Electric Ivory 53 Handset without Handset Cord Hole

Started by HonestAbe, September 04, 2016, 01:54:02 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

HonestAbe

Hello everyone,

Please be kind to me as this is my first time posting  :D At any rate, I purchased a modular Western Electric 554 wall phone a while back and expected it to come with a functioning handset. However, I received a "hardwired" soft plastic ivory handset without any handset cord hole.  I was wondering if anyone could shed some light on why Western Electric would make a handset like this.

Abe
"When I started out, all I did was play my trombone."
-Ray Conniff

Kenton K

Never seen one of those before... Also two transmitter units?.....

And Welcome!

-Ken

Maybe it was one of the first wireless receivers......  lol

TelePlay

I did a quick search of eBay and did not find the sale. Did you buy it off of eBay, or similar online seller, and if so, do you have the link to that posting? Would be interested in seeing how the seller did that.

Thanks.

====

And on the funny side, in reply to Kenton K's "wireless" comment above, it may just be what Dan/Panther said about a recent, similar phone issue:  "That's the Mother-in-Law model. Doesn't need an ear piece, because she never stops talking."

Greg G.

Quote from: Kenton K on September 04, 2016, 02:06:56 AM
Never seen one of those before... Also two transmitter units?.....

And Welcome!

-Ken

For people who talk out of both sides of their mouths.
The idea that a four-year degree is the only path to worthwhile knowledge is insane.
- Mike Row
e

HonestAbe

I found the link, but it has since expired.

http://m-cafr.g.ebay.ca/itm/222106891206

Anyways, here is a link to the pictures of the old listing is on Worthpoint.com.

http://www.worthpoint.com/worthopedia/vintage-rotary-phone-western-electric-1814119655