News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Far end cant hear any thing - Design Line Country Junction (rotary)

Started by etamme, August 29, 2011, 06:20:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

etamme

Hi Everyone!  First time poster here.  My girlfriend recently got me a (what I now know to be, thanks to Dennis ) a Design line Country Junction Rotary model.

I have it hooked up to my VoIP server that I run (openser) through my grandstream HT-502 ATA which does pulse detection.

Everything about the phone works 100% except that the far end can not hear anything at all when you speak into the transmitter - no scratching, no faint sound, nothing at all.

If any one can help point me in the right direction to trouble shoot and fix the issue I would very much appreciate it - I have very little experience in repairing analog telephones (ive got a couple but they all work!)

Here is what I have done so far to trouble shoot:

I completely disassembled the handset to check for broken wires and did continuity tests to the modular jack - nothing was broken.

I completely removed the T1 transmitter and took off the terminals, then whacked the heck out of it on the edges and by whacking the back with a plastic mallet.  - after reassembly still the exact same problem.

I found the "technical installation pdf" for the exact model http://www.porticus.org/bell/pdf/503-200-115_july1980_issue2.pdf

and I have just started trying to trace down wiring based on the diagram on page 7 (i think its the right diagram??) of the PDF so far things look good, but I have not traced the whole thing out.  It is a 4228 network, but there are terminals in the PDF pg7 that I dont have .. for instance terminal "F" in the pdf appears to be terminal "A" on my network based on the wires hooked up.

-Eric

Wallphone