News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Questions about Automatic Electric Model 80 (new at this!)

Started by classicradios, June 19, 2010, 01:17:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

classicradios

I'm new to this hobby and have a few questions about my Seafoam green (turquoise?) AE 80 phone which I hope that somebody can help me with.  Here they are:

1.   When I got this phone, it had the old 4 prong connector.  There were 3 wires attached to it - a red wire to one prong, with a green and yellow wire both attached to another prong.  There was no black wire (the phone is all original).   Question:  Do I need to do anything with the yellow wire or can I simply cut it off? Also, is there an easy way to attach a modern connector to the wires (I'd rather not buy an adaptor even if one is even available).

2.   The phone does not ring (although when I tested it out using "jumper" wires, the clapper did vibrate. ) The unit has a 0.2 mfd cap at 30 cycles (printed on the cap).  Would the addition, say, of a 0.5 mfd cap to the 0.2 mfd cap to raise the capacity to 0.7 mfd help this problem?  I suppose that I could loosen the brass nut on the clapper assembly or readjust the position of the bells, but any advice as to what would be best would help!  I'm used to working on old radios and these phones are new to me!!!

Phonesrfun

Welcome to the forum:

The red and green wires are the only wires needed to operate  the phone.  In your phone, one side of the ringer is connected to the yellow wire and the other side is connected to the red.  So, in order to get the ringer across the line, the yellow has to be attached to the green wire.