News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Beautiful North Galion

Started by Doug Rose, November 15, 2010, 09:52:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doug Rose

Janet found a real nice North Galion yesterday at the last Flea market of the year. It is in wonderful condition, great shine to the bakelite and like new cloth cords. I am far from an expert on these, and I cannot get it to ring otherwise it works great. I am assuming from the marking on the bottom its a frequency ringer. I don't want to touch anything, I want it as found. No need to open it as it works great and I don't want to take any chances....Doug
Kidphone

paul-f

Nice one!

It's worth a quick look inside to see if someone just disconnected the ringer.

The bottom stamping just indicates what ringer was in the phone when it was made.  The ringer could have been replaced several times while in service or by a collector.  If it's a 33 Hz ringer, it would likely ring if connected - or at least vibrate.

You'll probably find the wiring diagram inside on the capacitor.

Reference info on North ringers for this set is here:
 http://www.paul-f.com/NorthRingers.html
Visit: paul-f.com         WE  500  Design_Line

Doug Rose

thanks Paul...I'm checking it out. Mental health day after a LATE Patriot's WIN!!!....Doug
Kidphone

Doug Rose

No ring...looks like its wired correctly...frequency ringer??
Kidphone

Doug Rose

I'm having fun talking to myself, frequency ringer. I moved the bells so hey are almost touching and I hear a low, but audible ring. Beautiful phone dated 12/48....Doug
Kidphone

HarrySmith

Sure is pretty!
Try hooking up a known good ringer and see what happens!
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

paul-f