News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Coin relays, coin controllers, need the 411 on these things

Started by RB, September 08, 2019, 12:00:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RB

I have a WE 236G payphone I am refurbing. Not restoring, as such, I can't paint.
But getting it back to original condition.
The next part, is replacing the coin relay assy. will have that soon.
My questions surround the coin Relays, and the Controllers that make these things ACT like they did when in service.
I have seen various versions of these things, Stan's 2, DSK's version, and I believe, one or two other folks have made them along the way.
I need to know HOW the COIN RELAYS worked, and which CONTROLLER works for each type.
I have no experience with coin relays, and HOW they functioned, So, I am needing an education on these parts of the phone please.

Key2871

Those relays, so to speak used DC voltage to operate the coil. The voltage is high, so DO NOT TOUCH WILE CONNECTED TO ANY CONTROLLER or it could kill you.
The collect voltage was reversed from the return, in other words the positive was changed to negative, depending on what function was needed. Ground is a common marking but telephone company's use positive ground, versus most automobiles that use negative ground. Same with electronics that use negative ground.

The central office would supervise the polarity, depending on if it was collect or refund.