News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Automatic Electric Type 95

Started by Halligan142, April 15, 2015, 05:20:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Halligan142

So I bought an Automatic Electric Type 95 Panel mount phone.  It's actually currently being shipped, but I honestly don't know much about it.  I did some research and the only thing I could find on the phone is an old tech bulletin from 1970. 

http://www.telephonecollectors.info/index.php/browse/doc_download/4516-gsp-473-404-100-i2-nov70-ae95-telephone-panel-description

I got it because it will match some other items going into a room in my house.  Oh and I plan on using it.  I'm new to this so I have a couple of questions.

I know I'll need a pulse to tone converter and to that end I'm thinking of going with this unless someone knows of something better.

http://www.oldphoneworks.com/rotatone-pulse-to-tone-converter.html

It looks like it once had a metal shell that was mounted in the wall to which this panel screwed to.  I'm not worried about that, but it's also missing the ringer which the tech bulletin says can be either a type 45 or 46.  Can I use any old ringer or does it need to be those specific ones?  Also will the ringer be able to function on a modern phone system?

Any info anyone has on these phones will be greatly appreciated.  Oh and I have no idea why there's a watch dial on the dialer. 

G-Man

You should be able to use other standard ringers as long as they will mechanically fit and are either straight-line or 20-cycle ringers.I was unable to find an Automatic Electric Technical Bulletin but was able to download the General System Practice from the link you provided. It appears to be very detailed and thorough so I don't know what additional information you would be seeking.

Mr. Bones

Quote from: Halligan142 on April 15, 2015, 05:20:49 PM