"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Hello from Germany

Started by countryman, April 07, 2019, 04:44:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

countryman

Hi all,
first I'd like to thank Dennis for approving my registration request.
I'm new to the classic phone hobby and I'm not. I tinkered with phones at the age of 16 or 17, in the early to mid eighties. I was interested in electronics but neither made it to mastership nor turned it into my profession. I had a couple of working rotary phones and finally even made my own lelephone exchange to hook them together. Digging that out and seeing if it still works might be a next project...
With job and everything I completely abandoned the subject - cordless phones and mobiles came and went and I did not care much about them while my old stuff still existed.
Funny enough, my son's wish for  faster internet gave me the push to dig them out again. Faster internet meant to finally abandon the ISDN + DSL hookup we had for years and subscribe for all IP service. I had to dig into the subject to find out whether and how my beloved analog fax and the telephone setup in the house could still work. Actually that proved to be so trouble free that I tried my "old treasures" and voilá - they work just fine with the "latest of technologies" like they were never made for anything else :-)
I now registered here to learn more about international rotary phones, follow the forum better and maybe make remarks and requests now and then.
I currently own
-various grey german thermoplastic phones from the 70ies
-an ivory german W48 made by Krone with incomplete/non original interior
-a belgian ATEA "kettle phone", copper plated in it's second life, a gift from my parents for christmas ?1984? after I liked it on an antique market
-an Elmeg lineman's handset
-new purchase / ebay bargain, couldn't resist: Swedish 1951 LM Ericsson DBH 15X22