and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Railroad signals

Started by Weco355aman, December 20, 2011, 11:33:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Weco355aman

Does any one collect railway signals.
I'll be adding 2 Interlock relay houses and about 10 to12 Signal heads
to my collection, this will give me about 10 high signals and about 10 or dwarf signals. Another 3 or 4  years of repair and wiring to complete.
Phil

ESalter

I can say that I do(or I'm trying).  Currently all I have is a GRS 2A semaphore(no motor mechanism yet).  I have leads to in the future get several GRS SA searchlights and a GRS tri-color light.  All 3 would be old C&NW signals.  ---Eric

dpaynter1066

Back in the day, I worked as an electronic repair tech for Union Switch and Signal.  The top dogs in the tech dept were the relay jockeys.  They worked on neat looking big glass boxes filled with transdimensional inter-rossiters or something.

We worked on the electronic modules that were used for various sensing or signaling functions and for dropping the gate arms and warning bells, lights and so forth.

After working there, I no longer blindly barrel across railway crossings in my car when the lights are off.  I slow down and look both ways now.   Not saying why, just a thought is all.

ESalter

I've personally seen crossing detection do some really crazy things before when various things fail, but I've honestly never seen one fail in the clear position.  I've seen one clear and then go back down in the middle of a train passing, but never one stuck in the clear position, that'd actually be pretty scary.