News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Payphone for christmas - Needs restoring!

Started by dc4code, December 25, 2018, 01:22:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dc4code

Just got this beauty as a Christmas present!

There are a few issues,

It needs to be cleaned,
The Dial gets stuck and moves VERY slowly does not return, etc..
The Reciever sounds like there is something rattling in there (I tried to unscrew the transmitter and receiver cap but it's like some sort of glue is preventing me!)

Also, I have NO Knowledge of pay phones at all. (Other than that some use really high voltages..)

How do I get this to work on a Landline?
Also, there are still a lot of quarters in the Coin Box I have been told, I have no keys to this payphone

There is a key slot on the side of the phone (I assume this is for Maintenance)
and there is a key slot for the Coin Box.

Where can I find these keys? (I have $50 to spend on restoring this phone!)

Here is a link the where I got it at https://offerup.com/item/detail/583682036/  ( dead link 07-12-21 )

(My parents haggled the guy and ended up only paying around $98 USD!)

Jim Stettler

The side lock is called the upper housing lock. Back in  the day these were regional keys. Many of the uppers were keyed by the State that it was located in.  If you can determine where the phone came from, you can probably find out  which upper key is needed.  Payphone installer could probably help you determine the key if you can trace the area the phone came from.
If you decide to drill or (cut the door), check with him for the best way to break in it.
Great Christmas present,
Jim S.
You live, You learn,
You die, you forget it all.

HarrySmith

Looks like all you need for the vault door is a "T" key. They are available on eBay pretty cheaply.
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

dc4code