News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

AE40 not transmitting!

Started by Volvoguy, July 02, 2014, 09:41:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Volvoguy

I have recently picked up two AE40's, let's call them phone A and phone B. Phone A rings, dials, and receives the other persons voice fine. The other person can not hear me whatsoever though. Phone B works perfectly. I swapped transmitter elements and they both function the same. I am going to open up phone A tonight and look around, but thought I would would get some ideas at what to look for. I am new to the 40's and am not in tune with the innards.

Thanks for any ideas!

WesternElectricBen

Did you try re-positioning or cleaning the contacts?

B/c your transmitter is good, as you tried it in another phone and it worked.

Ben

dsk

Sounds like a shorted transmitter. so the first I would check was: Do you get a dial tone without any transmitter at all, if yes, examine the cord and contacts for shorts. If no fault located: try to remove capacitor cord from T terminal of handset cord wire. (tape end)
Still no "cure" check if the cord wires not has been swapped.

dsk

Volvoguy

That's exactly the kind of troubleshooting I was looking for. Didn't get around to it tonight, my little guy didn't want to sleep easily and I have an early morning. But I'll check all that out tomorrow afternoon and report back!

Thanks!

Volvoguy

Well that was easy! Opened it up and the green and red from the handset were touching. Loosened one screw, rotated the wire and it was good to go!  Thanks!

dsk

Congratulations with 2 great working telephones!
dsk

Babybearjs