News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

First repair / restoration .... need some help please

Started by xtal_01, July 25, 2017, 01:03:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

xtal_01

I just joined the forum and this is my first post.

I am a bit of a "history of technology" junkie.

I also want things to work as they did when they were produced.

I am a machinist by trade and instrumentation designer/technician.

I had the idea back some years ago of getting two old wooden all phones and having them work between my house and shop.

I bought an old Western Electric some years ago.  Then we started building a new house and shop.  So it got packed away.

The other day, I came across a good deal on another phone,  It is looks similar but is made by "Federal Telephone and Telegraph Co .... Buffalo, NY".

http://www.telephonecollecting.org/Bobs%20phones/Pages/Federal/Federal%20Telephone%20&%20Telegraph.htm

It seems in remarkable shape for it's age (1920's).

Even thought I have never touched one of these phones, most of it is straight forward.  The bell had fallen out.  I found the parts, installed it and adjusted it (at first it would not ring .... spring tension).  They must have been loose for a long while, wear marks under the bells right into the wood.

Anyway, a few problems left with it.