News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

1930's telephone that i purchased question? "UPDATE"

Started by hemi71x, March 10, 2011, 08:38:06 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hemi71x

I just purchased a 1930's rotary dial telephone as an antique item for the house.
I know i won't be able to make any outgoing telephone calls with it unless i purchase what i am told is called a "pulse to tone converter box."
I get incoming calls with it ok, but it doesn't "ring"
I hear the ring on my other two, regular telephone land lines in the house.
My question is there something else wrong in the phone that isn't making it ring when i get a call, or will a converter box make it ring.
Or do i have to get something else to hear a ring of an incoming phone call.
Thank's for any tips, leads, help, that you can give me.
I'm new to all this. I remember one of these old phones at grandma's
house when i was a little kid growing up in the 50's.
Jim V.

AE_Collector

Someone else will give you the full details but it doesn't ring because I don't see a ringer box / subset. These phones don't have room for a ringer inside so there needs to be a seperate ringer box with network components in it as well. Your phone might have been modified with modern (much smaller than the old days) network components in the base.

Chances are you should be able to dial with it. Most telephone companies still allow dial pulse but some don't.

Welcome to the Rotary Phone Forum!

Terry

LarryInMichigan

Jim,

Welcome to the forum.  If you stick around here for a while, you will find yourself with LOTS of phones :)