News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Unknown (to me) Stromberg Carlson wall phone

Started by Smitty, June 14, 2016, 07:39:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smitty

When I was at the estate sale where I bought the subset that I posted about a few days ago, I also saw a metal wall phone that had no receiver.  The only marking I could see was on the back of the transmitter cup, which identified it as a Stromberg Carlson.  They had priced it at $25.  I didn't buy it because I was unfamiliar with that type phone, it was incomplete, and mostly because I'm a newbie and had no idea if it was worth that or not.  I decided to go back on Sunday, the last day of the sale.  It was still there and they came down to $8.00, so I bought it.  After buying it I started researching to try to identify it, and I think it is the same type phone that Nick in Manitou recently wrote about in his thread titled "Big Load of Parts - What Are They?" (sorry I can't figure out how to insert it as a hyperlink).  Mine appears to be the same as his, except for having a different transmitter cup and having the transmitter and gongs.  Nick believes his is a Model 1130, and the few pictures of that model on the internet make me think he's correct.  Here are some photos.  Please excuse the filthy condition - I have done nothing to clean it.

19and41

Looks like there is something good under the dirt.
"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic."
— Arthur C. Clarke

Nick in Manitou

Smitty,

Thanks for posting this.  It sure does look like the same model that I have.  There does not seem to be a lot of information about these easily found on the internet.

I will be watching to see if folks post some information about these!   

Nick

unbeldi

I think we can date this from the materials used and the style of some parts, e.g. the transmitter.