"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

N717CG questions from a new member

Started by jhutzler, November 08, 2014, 02:01:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jhutzler

Hi Folks,

Just joined and wanted to say hello. I'm an electronics teacher in a high school here on Vancouver Island that owns an old heritage home and I recently bought a wooden phone from Quebec and hooked it into our Shaw Cable digital phone service.  The phone works... sort of. It only works when one of our wireless phones answers the call first. Then you can use the old phone to talk to and hear the caller. You cannot complete the call without hanging up the wireless phone. Answering a call with the old phone means you can continue to hear ringing on the line then a voice says "please hang up and try your call again".

The old phone guy says I should use an old phone equalizer to limit current draw on my line but a previous post about an n717ah suggests a slightly different wiring schematic.

Old phone guy says use a 2.2 mF cap and a 250 ohm 5 W resistor in parallel and hooked into the line in series with the old phone while DSK and G-Man in this post http://www.classicrotaryphones.com/forum/index.php?topic=8543.15 suggested 2.2 uF from line 1 into Grd then out.

Could use some advice on this one.

Thanks,  Jeff

unbeldi

The N717CG is a local battery telephone, which means that the transmitter is powered by a battery connected locally into the transmitter circuit. You cannot normally operate such a phone on a common battery telephone line unless it is properly converted.  I don't know if anyone has looked into doing that for these.

Were you told it should work? Has the previous owner worked on it?

If you have two phones off-hook on the same line, then of course both must hang up to free the line.

I think you first need to determine the state of the phone, examine the wiring and record it as a diagram.