News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Reunited and it feels so good!

Started by AET, March 30, 2009, 11:43:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

AET

Well, I found a phone today that I had been missing since 2004.  My first rotary phone, and the only one I had owned from 04 until just recently when I joined the forum.

I knew nothing of phones when I got this one, it had been wired in our Gun Store, which had been a pharmacy from 1865 until we bought it in 04.  It was just an old rotary phone that was heavily used and it showed.  My dad was going to throw it out, and after some persuasion, he let me keep it.  It was not wanted in the house, so it was packed up and ended up in the garage at our summer house until today.   

My friends and I went on a special search for it, and of course when I got it, I had to take her apart right away.  I was superbly disappointed to see that it was a full modular and I immediately thought, not very old. Well, I took off the mouthpiece to find a date of 66, so I went "Okay, it's an updated model"  And I took the case off to find that the network, ringer, and dial and base are all dated 10/58!  A good find complete with cloth cords and everything, just needs to be cleaned.  It did work in 04, but needs to be wired for a modern modular. 

Here's some pics, I'll probably start on it tomorrow.

- Tom

bingster

Not too shabby, Tom.  The color code on the dial (61) indicates it was originally a light grey set.  Does it look like light grey inside the caps, or does it look white?
= DARRIN =

AET

Looks white to me, but could definately be lite Gray, it doesn't seem like there'd be a big difference.
- Tom

McHeath