News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Tube Radio Forum & Restoration

Started by winkydink, January 06, 2012, 02:27:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

winkydink

I know that many of the phone enthusist on this forum are also radio enthusist.

Can you direct me to a similar forum for Tube Radios.

I have several tube radios sets and for a while toyed with the idea of trying to learn how to repair old tube sets.  My problem is that I have no electronics background and quite frankly electrocuting myself is NOT one of my New Years resolutions.  I respect electricity quite a bit, and that healthy fear lead me to vintage phone restoration.

Still, I have thought about acquiring and repairing and restoring some old radios, and would like to get some more info about it.

btw - I have a 1942 Philco (Model 42-PT94) electronically restored several years ago and I use it everyday at work to listen to various AM broadcasts throughout the day.

LarryInMichigan

That's a beautiful radio.  Working with radios can be somewhat more dangerous than phones because of the much higher voltages and currents.  Many if not most 1930s and newer radios can be made to work with capacitor replacement.  Capacitors are cheap.  There are some forums at: http://antiqueradios.com.  I have not yet had a chance to check them out.

Larry

Bill

There is a newsgroup at
rec.antiques.radio+phono.
The best folks in the hobby congregate there, but most ISPs are eliminating newsgroups. If yours is doing so, antiqueradios.com/forums is a good place too.

You might consider joining one of the regional clubs, such as NEARC, even if you are not living in the area. A lot of good people, and a lot of good advice, for a very few bucks. There is another one in southern Californaia - SCARS?

Bill

jsowers