News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

FACE Standard Model 500 clone

Started by Tribune, August 23, 2010, 09:59:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tribune

Greetings all, newbie here, asking newbie type questions  ;)

Anyway got this neat-looking phone from e-bay, primarily because of its very funky Arabic dial. Appears to be made by the former ITT Italian subsidiary FACE Standard for the Lebanese telephone network - hence the Arabic dial and the cedar tree on the dial and handset.

Superficially resembles a typical 500 model, but it is marginally shorter and the cords exit from different locations. Take off the case it it looks very different. Ringer located under the dial and all wiring in a self contained unit, including the hook switch.

Annoyingly, the terminal labeling on the network doesn't correspond to anything I've seen on my other 'real' 500 sets. Certainly not the standard Western Electric labeling

On the left:-
a) Red line cord
b) empty
S) Green line cord
G) empty
S2) Red to ringer
M) White to transmitter
R) Red to receiver
MR) Brown to receiver, Blue to transmitter

On the right:-
a1) empty
G1) empty
T) empty
S1) Blue to ringer
1) White to dial (impulse switch)
2) Red to dial (impulse switch)
3) Blue to dial (shunt switch)
4) Brown to dial (shunt switch)

Wired as it is now, it rings, but nothing heard in the handset.

Any suggestions on wiring this baby for use in Canada?

Thanks folks!
Mark Furze - TCI, ATCA

To miss-quote "Bones" McCoy . . .
                     "darn it Jim - I'm a doctor, not a telephone engineer!"

Phonesrfun

Welcome to the forum:

Just a guess, but try bridging the S) connection where the green wire is to the b) connection that is currently empty.

I searched high and low for a schematic, but to no avail.  Perhaps d_s_k or Remco, both from Europe can be of more help if the above does not work.
-Bill G

teka-bb