News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

"Calibrating" Dials?

Started by HobieSport, October 22, 2008, 04:52:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HobieSport

I've read of a seller of very high quality refurbished phones that he "calibrates" the dials with a electronic phone analyzer" to make sure each number is sending the right signal.  Any idea what that's all about?  Uh oh.  I just set up for anal jokes.

But seriously, I need a crash course in basic electrical engineering related to the workings of these old phones.  Any good articles on the internet?  Who on the forum knows all the workings of the dial phones electronically? Thanks,  -Matt

bingster

I'm not an expert on dials, but I can tell you what I do know.  The purpose of a dial is to interrupt in regular intervals, the flow of electricity coming through the line.  The central office equipment detects these regular interruptions and interprets them as "numbers." 

The calibration process is nothing more than making sure the dial sends these interruptions or pulses at a specific rate of speed.  Many people make the calibration process out as something mystifying, but it's really nothing more than speed adjustment.
= DARRIN =

HobieSport

Thanks Bingster.  So...how do you adjust the speed and test if the speed is correct?  Maybe a thread on that here somewhere...

I'm most talking mostly about WE 5H dials.

bingster

Adjusting the speed is easy with the adjusting screw in the governor, BUT... determining if that speed is correct is the kicker.  It takes extra, very job-specific tools, to do that. 

= DARRIN =

benhutcherson