News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Repairing a 4H Dial

Started by Rigger1, January 30, 2011, 05:27:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rigger1

I am working on a 4H dial that was frozen solid with rust and corrosion. I have everything pretty well cleaned up and ready to reassemble, however the pawl spring is very badly rusted and broken into 3 pieces. Can any one give me an idea of where to find a suitable replacement?  This is never going to be a great dial, but it is my first attempt to repair one. I would like to get it back together, install it and see if I have it right. Thanks for any help you can give.  I attached a picture of the phone to give an idea how bad it was. The phone must have been wet for quite a while.

Dennis Markham

Rigger, Welcome to the Forum.

My first stop would be to check with Steve Hilsz.  He has a web site:

www.navysalvage.com

His e-mail address is: jydsk@tds.net

He is the dial expert and often has spare parts.  He's a great guy and won't charge you an arm and a leg.  Tell him we sent you.

~Dennis

HarrySmith

Welcome!
Steve is definetly a good resource for any dial parts or repair. Right now he is off on a salvage mission so it may not be a quick response.
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

Rigger1

Thanks for the information. I will get an email off to him, and I will be sure to mention the forum.  Oh, BTW the picture of the dial was taken as I was taking it apart. It is looking a bit better now. This is a amazing product, to take all that abuse, then clean up and be ready to go back into service.

LarryInMichigan

Being that nearly all of the critical components were made of brass, those dials are nearly indestructible.

Larry

Rigger1