and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Help with a wall Uniphone n.2

Started by JeanFabricio, January 14, 2016, 11:08:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JeanFabricio

Hi.
I'm new here.
I don't work with phones, but I have some experience in restoring antique objects including radios, wood objects, Lambretta, VW Bug, etc.
I bought this Uniphone. It was very dirty and rusty. I disassembled, cleaned and reassembled. I noted all connections before disassembling - I tested and it was working perfectly before.
After reassembly happened that: he gets calls (the bell rings), but there is no sign on the microphone or speaker.
I set up according to my notes and also according to the manual "Wiring Diagram for No. 2 Type Uniphone Equipped sith No. 5 type dial"
I wonder to you guys: what I did wrong?

The photos shows the Uniphone now.

poplar1

For starters, the same color wire (blue) should be on both BK inside the handset and BK on the dial. You have the blue wire on R inside the handset, and the red wire on BK. Try reversing these inside the handset.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Ktownphoneco

Unless I'm looking at the picture incorrectly, the 2 spring terminals inside the transmitter cavity are reversed, and it appears therefore, one isn't making any contact at once the transmitter cartridge is installed.

Jeff Lamb

NorthernElectric

One thing that I see is that you have the red and blue connections wrong in the handset.  The original handset cord would have red, white, and black wires where yours has red, white, and blue.  It looks like the blue wire is used as the black where it connects to the dial, but not at the other end.  If you look at the connections under the transmitter in the handset, you have the red wire connected to 'BK' and the blue wire connected to 'R'.  Since you should use the blue as the black it should be on BK and the red on R.
Cliff

Ktownphoneco