"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Using an Automatic Electric 50 with my building intercom system

Started by jvennema, July 09, 2016, 05:03:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jvennema

Hi Guys!

I'm new to this world, moderately technically ambitious, and also pretty technically deficient, so that's my caveat for all this moving forward. Also, I apologize in advance for the length of this post. It probably has a lot of unnecessary detail.

I recently remodeled my prewar New York apartment and have put a lot of effort into maintaining the charming, classic character of the place. The cheap, white plastic phone I'm using for my intercom feels like a sore thumb to me, so I got what I now understand to be an AE50 wall phone. Not contemporary to the 1923 construction date, but sufficiently deco to feel in character. Its great, I really love it. The person from whom I purchased it appears to be a refurbisher of antique phones and avowed that it was in proper working order, and I have no reason to suspect that is/was not true.

The building intercom has no complicated features. I literally only need to be able to dial "0" to reach the front desk. The front desk needs to be able to call up and talk to me. That's it. The intercom is wired with regular phone wire and we are told to use regular phones with it. But of course I have struggled mightily to get my AE50 to work.

I have not yet been able to get anyone who can get me technical details of the intercom system itself, so I'm still working on that, but I have pretty conclusively determined that the system requires DTMF tones. My cheapo modern wall phone has a switch for pulse tones, and will not call out when its in pulse mode.