News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

North Electric reddish brown phone

Started by rrnora, October 19, 2014, 05:49:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rrnora

I got this reddish brown North Electric phone at the flea market today. I'd like to know more about it -- I'm trying to decide whether to keep it or try to sell it. (I have a bunch of other phones that have been waiting for me to do something with them, but I am an utter novice at fixing up old phones, and I have a small apartment at the moment. I can't just keep holding on to all of them forever.)

It looks like it's probably from about 1949; the dates inside the handset are 1948 & 1949. I haven't opened up the body of the phone yet. Is it normal for a phone of that age to have a transparent finger wheel, or would that have been a later addition? Any other thoughts? Thanks.

--Nora

poplar1

That is a Western Electric 5J dial, which had transparent finger wheels at the time this phone was made. The upstate NY telephone company where this phone was installed decided they preferred WE dials to the North Electric ones, and so ordered them equipped this way. The factory wiring is slightly different in order to accommodate a WE dial, which opens the receiver (rather than shorting it) while the dial is turned.

I'd be interested in knowing how far away from upstate NY this phone turned up for sale.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

rrnora

Near Pittsburgh, PA. My boyfriend had seen this phone in the window of a secondhand store in Sharpsburg, PA earlier this week and was going to take me to look at it after the flea market today. Then we actually spotted it at the flea market itself!

paul-f

Quote from: rrnora on October 19, 2014, 05:49:46 PM

I can't just keep holding on to all of them forever.)

Welcome to the forum, Nora.