News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Which contact cleaner do you use?

Started by helia, July 23, 2013, 10:36:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

helia

(Not sure if this is the right board for this question but here it is..)

I'm new at this so I've had to buy a few things to help with the clean up of my 302 phone.  (Novus and Simichrome are great!) 

I've never bought an electrical contact cleaner before so I'm not sure what to buy.  I'm going to use it to clean up the terminal ends and the induction coil screws.  I'm deciding between the DeoxIT D5 and the DeoxIT D100 because the local store has them but I don't know if one is better or worse than the other.  Thoughts?  Any advice on buying something else?  Thanks for the help!

LarryInMichigan

I use a wire brush on a rotary tool to clean electrical contacts where possible.  It quickly removes dirt and oxidation.

Larry

ESalter

I hear carbon tetrachloride is a good contact cleaner, but I wouldn't recommend it :P 

My dad has some really good spray contact cleaner, I'll take a look at what it is tomorrow.

For phones I usually use a stainless wire brush as Larry said.  Another good took is a fiberglass brush.  Those aren't readily available at stores, but you can buy them online.  They work well to remove oxidation and other crust from plated surfaces without worrying about digging through the plating like stainless brushes sometimes can.

---Eric

helia

I live in a tiny NYC apartment so rotary tools are probably not the best idea - no idea where I would store it.   But I love the idea of the fiberglass brush! 

poplar1

"The contacts on 625A transmitters are silver plated and shall not be burnished. The tarnish that develops on these contacts is not detrimental."

Bell System Practices, Section C35.101, Issue 2, 2-10-37, page 2, paragraph 4.02