News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Using a 425 network from a 500 for older phones

Started by Phonesrfun, January 04, 2010, 04:19:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Phonesrfun

This is kind of a rehash, but I have done my own independant research, and I agree with Benhucherson and Bingster on the use of the 425 series networks for the older 102,202,211 and candlestick phones.

Primarily, you want to have the network free from all hookswitch and dial connections.  It can have the ringer attached in its normal fashion.

I studied the schematics of the 500 series phones and also the easier to understand version that is in Ralph Meyer's book.  At first, I thought this was going to be impossible, given the totally different way the 425 network accomplishes switching, but it really isn't all that different once you think around the Bell System box.

Just as Benhutcherson has said in an earlier post, the connections are:

Line cord:
Red to L2
Green to L1  These are just as normal.

Ringer:
Black to L1
Red to L2
Slate to K
Slate-Red to A  These ringer connections are standard for the 500 too. (a)

If you have just a stand-alone 425 network without the ringer, the above ringer connections are not needed.

Desk set cord:

For a sidetone phone using a 3-conductor desk set cord like a 102, or a sidetone candlestick:
Red to R
Green to GN
Yellow to L2
Jumper L1 to RR on the network

For an antisidetone phone using a 4-conductor desk set cord like a 202, a 211 spacesaver, or an antisidetone candlestick:
Red to R
Green to GN
Yellow to L2
Jumper L1 to RR  on the network
(Did you notice that all these so far are exactly the same as the sidetone?)

Now for the extra black antisidetone feedback wire:

Ben said in his post to connect it to K.  This is where I differ.  I would connect it to C.