"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

My first time Painting a Phone-help wanted

Started by WesternElectricBen, August 02, 2013, 11:42:22 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WesternElectricBen

Hello everybody,

This is my first time painting a phone, it has to happen, and with so many black phones (which are hard to buff to make like new liked colored sets) I need to make progress with one.

So I decided on a metal body Stromburg Carson 1243. I chosed this, as if you see the before pictures its completely pitted.

I would like to know,

1:Should I paint the handset?

2: What paint do I use?

3:Is a curly cord period correct for this phone, it says something like 62 in the handset on the transmitter.

Thank you,
Ben

WesternElectricBen

Looks alright, its okay for my first time painting, on the back and the left side their was some drippage but, luckily the cord covers up the left and nobody looks at the back.

I decided to paint the handset though a few of you might cringe, I want to get that good, but the rest of the phone looks pretty good. Couldn't sand the rust and keep the "Stroburg Carelson" label. So I left some original Patina.

I did learn, PRIME before paint. Which I thought I could skip and do a couple extra coats.

I think this will be my new thing if I get good at this.

Ben

southernphoneman

Quote from: WesternElectricBen on August 02, 2013, 04:11:40 PM
Looks alright, its okay for my first time painting, on the back and the left side their was some drippage but, luckily the cord covers up the left and nobody looks at the back.

I decided to paint the handset though a few of you might cringe, I want to get that good, but the rest of the phone looks pretty good. Couldn't sand the rust and keep the "Stroburg Carelson" label. So I left some original Patina.

I did learn, PRIME before paint. Which I thought I could skip and do a couple extra coats.

Ben