"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

looking for info on lime green trimline/slimline

Started by slim_and_trimline, February 03, 2011, 07:32:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

slim_and_trimline

Hello all!
I'm new to the fourms.  I'm a 70's kid who has some interest in phones from that era.  I have the "olympic statue" phone and a red trimline I found at thrift stores.  I also like the Accent series and the AT&T glow phone.

Anyway, I'd appreciate your expertise with some questions about the trimline/slimline series.  I just got a landline (hate my cell) and would like to track down my fav model phone in my fav color, so these questions only apply to the color lime green of this model when applicable.

I emailed Paul F. who was very helpful and let me know that SC and ITT both made this model in lime, and he thinks WE did later on.  The questions I have apply to whatever versions were manufactured and they may be obvious to anyone who knows about the trimline/slimline models in general so kindly bear with me  ;D

Ringer types (difference in bells?  Were any made that didn't even have a bell ringer?)
Which were offered with the "lamp", which were with the led light, and which had no light?
Did all brands offer both desk and wall mount versions, and did all brands offer rotary?
Any differences in durability of plastic between brands?
Also, I read something about how some trimline/slimline colors that
were offered were created by painting over another color plastic at the factory, as opposed to the plastic mold itself being made in that color.  
So I'd be very interested in knowing which brands were lime green painted over another color plastic, and which (if any) were actually made of lime green plastic.

Any other info on variations would be much appreciated.