"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

202/685 short out on Comcast phone line

Started by Dalexs, March 30, 2015, 10:04:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dalexs

Hi folks,

Phone forum newbie here, but long time telephone worker history...
I've spent some time looking thru all the info, and typical of the internet, I'm loving the wealth of information found here.

A brief history if I may...
My dad was a 40 year veteran of NJ Bell/NYNEX/New England Telephone.
(I also worked for NYNEX for a few years out of school.)

Over the years, he had acquired a number of phones from various job sites, trade outs, upgrades etc...
but never really worked on getting them into regular use around the house.

As an aficionado of art deco and the era of yesteryear, I've always wanted to get these various devices working.

After his passing, I finally got hold of one of these phones, a WE 202 with F1 handset, and I really want to get it working right.
He had a 685a subset, which I wired using Bingster's diagram here
http://www.classicrotaryphones.com/forum/index.php?topic=784.0.

When I first got it hooked it right I was amazed at the quality of sound. I even called some folks in the know who couldn't believe what I was using at the time.

Fast forward a bit... I have come to find a number of times that my Comcast Cable phone service seems to short out sometimes.
When I first started troubleshooting, I found disconnecting the subset from the line, everything was fine.

If I plugged it back it back in immediately, it would short out the service again. (Please read as no dial tone, no incoming calls.)

If I waited a period, and plugged it back in back in, everything would be fine.

My thought is that the coil/transformer on the subset is wearing out, or building up some kind of charge or impedence and taking down the VOIP line.

I was hoping I might find some advice here.

Thanks in advance.