"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

PBX (TD816) terminology and features question

Started by mrbugsir, January 05, 2014, 05:26:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mrbugsir

Greetings,

I was infected by the phone bug back in last November. I am sure you all have sympathy for me :o Being a network engineer by trade, the phones I collect not only have to work but be able to call each other --- I want to hear those marvelous bells, so I acquired a Panasonic KX-TD816 and a proprietary digital telephone (PDT). Everything works and I am very pleased. The PDT has so many buttons on it, I have attached each extension to a button so I can make each of my functioning phones ring on command. I have a collection of 3 so far, and a relatively modern Sony push button that is indestructible.

I have a few simple things to finish off its configuration that I hope you guys can help me out with. I have the Features and Programming guides, but I think I may be a little challenged on the terminology.

1 - Would like all incoming calls to ring (and route to?) only 2 extensions. One is a FAX machine like I have it now, and the other is this New York Telephone French repro from 1961 that my wife liked, which would notify her there is a FAX, or if it rings over and over, that means I have been trying to reach her and her cell phone is dead or charging. Ah, the joys of marriage.

2 - I would like certain extensions (probably the same 2) dial out directly without using 9.

That's it!

I think #1 requires extension groups possible, but I haven't figured out how to associate them to incoming calls. #2, I have no clue.

Your help would be greatly appreciated. I have been lurking in the forums for a few weeks and have been amazed at your knowledge and expertise.

twocvbloke