"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Panasonic 616 Inside House Wiring

Started by Fabius, April 20, 2014, 11:37:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fabius

Hello All,

Our house was built in 2005. While it was wired for a land line when built we have never had a land line installed. With the cost of land lines falling a bit and the fact that we live in a very rural area and want reliable 911 service we are considering installing one. That being the case I'm toying with the idea of installing a Panasonic 616. Does the incoming line connect to the 616 using a RJ-11 standard connector? Does each extension have a separate line back to the 616 and is that a 4 wire line?  The Panasonic 616  seems to be an inexpensive and uncomplicated way to go. Are there alternatives to the 616?
Tom Vaughn
La Porte, Indiana
ATCA Past President
ATCA #765
C*NET 1+ 821-9905

WesternElectricBen

Hi,

I'm not a pro with these things, but I have took the time to study.

Yes, what you basically have to do is, mount the PBX near the jack feed off area, (to the phone jacks in the house.) If it was wired with blocks, you could simply wire in tip and ring, to each jack, then running it into the PBX, and modulating the end, so you can plug it in.

For the main phone line, I'm not sure. Our old house, the wires came into the basement and were wired into a box. So, that could be easily wired and modulated for the 616. Meaning, keep the initial wire in, but like the jacks, bridge it over to the PBX.

Once again, I'm not an electrician, I'm just a theoretical idea person.

Ben

Phonesrfun

The 616 does use standard RJ-11 connectors all the way around.  The incoming lines only have 2 wires (tip and ring) that are used, which is standard.