"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

wiring diagram for AE34 converted with modern components

Started by RotoTech99, April 17, 2020, 12:46:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RotoTech99

Dear Forum:

Please Find attached a wiring diagram with notes that shows the wiring for an AE34A3A Monophone converted to use a modern network and ringer.

Please note that it is a draft diagram, but it does reflect the information i was given on how the conversion was done by Phoneco, Inc.

I apologize for the diagram looking "rough"; If any forum member can please redo and clean it up so it's easier to read I will gladly thank them. I'm not very good with drafting wiring diagrams.

Thank you,
RotoTech99

Jack Ryan

May I ask why an AE34 needs "modern" wiring?

Thanks
Jack

RotoTech99

Dear Jack Ryan:

Thank you for the reply. I know every collector has their reasons why they either prefer to fix up an old phone with the old original parts, or use  modern conversion parts to make a functional phone from an old phone that they don't have the original parts for... I find no fault with either way.

I also know that original parts cannot always be found for one reason or another, which is, understandable.

I personally see no harm in rebuilding an older phone with modern components if you want it to be useable while
keeping as much of the old phone as you can, and it's ultimately up to them how far the conversion will go.

I also believe that if someone asks about the conversion if they want to buy the converted  phone, the seller should definitely tell them about it honestly, and then let the buyer decide.

I've talked with buyers of conversion phones that are pleased with the phone they bought who may or may not already have an old phone with original components.