News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Wall Mount/DSL

Started by rlmeals, May 11, 2012, 12:41:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rlmeals

Okay, so I'm totally new to this, so be gentle!  I'm sorry if this has been asked before...I did do a search and discovered in past threads that there is a DSL filter box you can mount on the wall, but the phone will float off the wall.  I really don't like that, but it's an option.

Here's my immediate problem.  I bought this phone off ebay: http://www.ebay.com/itm/290704580816?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649  You can see on the last picture that it has a wall mount modular jack connection.  I just got it in the mail yesterday, and I tried to hook it up to see if it worked.  I don't have a wall mount jack, I just have a regular one that's down lower on the wall.  It wouldn't connect.  Meaning, the modular plug in the back of the phone wouldn't snap into the jack.  It also wouldn't snap into the splitter I have in another room.  And then I tried to plug it into the DSL filter and it wouldn't go in that either.  Is there something different about a wall mount jack/plate that will make it connect?  Because it seems as if the actually plug in the back of the phone is recessed in the phone a little bit, and it's not going far enough into the jack to snap.

I realize I don't have the right wall mount jack, but that's something I was going to install, and I simply wanted to check that the phone worked upon arrival.