News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

S.H. Couch walnut two box

Started by Thomas, November 17, 2021, 06:39:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thomas

Hello, First time on this Forum since 2015 when you guys helped me restore a nice 1950's desk phone. My wife and I just picked up a S.H. Couch two box walnut wall phone. I have been looking for a nice long project and I think I've got one now! I'm going to restore all the wood parts first because that's what I'm good at. I'm a retired carpenter/cabinetmaker and a restorer of all kinds of things. Getting this thing working is going to be a bit of a challenge but I really want to get it to work, maybe not to call out but would love it to work as an extension to our other land line phones. Not sure that is possible. There were some parts with it but I know there is stuff missing. I've never done this kind of a restoration before, as far as re-wiring this and getting new parts and connecting them correctly. I ordered Old-time telephones! : design, history, and restoration / Ralph O. Meyer from the library thinking it might help. I'm not sure what parts will cost either, that may affect how long it takes to finish this project. Would love to know more about S.H. Couch as well and anything about the phone you may know such as model # or name etc. Thanks to all, Tom

< edit 11-17-21 : image removed, rotated, reinserted >

Thomas

Here are more pictures to add to my first post

Key2871

Glad to hear you want to restore the wood, I bet that comes out looking great.
Good luck with that, and I look forward to seeing the finished piece.
KEN

Doug Rose

Thomas... S.H. Couch was made in North Quincy MA, just outside of  Boston. Good luck on your restoration, old wood is joy to work on. Making this work as an extension is ambitious. Keep us up to date on your progress...
Doug
Kidphone

FABphones