"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

BK 1045 telephone tester on eBay

Started by Jim Stettler, October 30, 2021, 09:51:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Jim Stettler

https://www.ebay.com/itm/234262948697?hash=item368b28eb59:g:pp8AAOSw~89hfLIN

The BK 1045 is a nice, simple, fast phone tester. It will show digits dialed but doesn't check dial speed or make/break ratio.
New these sold for over $500.

I feel they are worth at least $100 used if you collect telephones.

Jim
They do the same test as the radio shack tester
You live, You learn,
You die, you forget it all.

Doug Rose

I see a lot of these testers talked about and on eBay. I have been restoring Telephones for over 40 years and do not understand what i would use it for. Not being a smartass, I just don't get it.

In the beginning I had two Lines form the phone company. Now I have a Panasonic 616 as I have FIOS Digital. I have a Bench Test phone which I dial the phone I am working on. I dial from the Bench to the test phone. I get dial tone and can proclaim a telephone to work.

My 616 is worth its weight in gold. I use it in the house for Rotary phones to dial out.

What would I gain from this? Again, not trying to be a smartass...Doug
Kidphone

Jim Stettler

They are a fast way to test, and a fun tester to play with.

You can check the cords and all functions of a modular telephones in less than a minute.
I used to have several so my kids and their friends could 'help' me test telephones when they were little.

Overall , the 1045 is fast, easy, light , portable, simple  and fun for collectors of all ages
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I used mine for a quick go/no go test when I unpack boxes of telephones . I would test 10-12 phones and clean up the ones that tested good.