News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

RCA Bakelite and Brass Model 75X11

Started by Doug Rose, February 21, 2022, 12:33:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Doug Rose

I picked this up at an Antiques store in Maine Yesterday. I had looked at the Radio, decided against it and was leaving, when I got the, "once your gone its gone" and went back to it. 25% of dealers, total came to $40.39

Found an AC Outlet and it worked. No static but in a huge metal building so I only got one station, but it was clear.

I thought it was Bakelite and hoped it was Brass. I went at the Bakelite with Norvus and a Mr Clean Bar and the Brass with Whites and fine steel wool.

This came out much better than expected.

Does anyone have any info on this? I have zero knowledge on radios....many thanks....Doug
Kidphone

FABphones

Quote from: Doug Rose on February 21, 2022, 12:33:30 PM
Does anyone have any info on this....  ....many thanks....

Cute radio. Late 1940's.

Glad it tested ok but radio collectors advice is never plug a radio directly into the mains to test. You were lucky it didn't go bang.

If you Google the model number quite a few sites come up in the search results with images and info. Possibly a current eBay listing or two as well.

:)
A collector of  'Monochrome Phones with Sepia Tones'   ...and a Duck!
Vintage Phones - 10% man made, 90% Tribble

Doug Rose

Quote from: FABphones on February 21, 2022, 12:54:10 PM
Cute radio. Late 1940's.

Glad it tested ok but radio collectors advice is never plug a radio directly into the mains to test. You were lucky it didn't go bang

CJ....info said it was working on the tag, so I plugged it in to verify before I paid for it. You would not have tested it? ...Doug
Kidphone

19and41