News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Tech Folks - Please Step In

Started by ramegoom, April 25, 2018, 02:17:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ramegoom

Looking to tap the masterminds here. I am a newbie, and this is my first intro into phonery.

This is my scenario:

I have a WE 551A switchboard which I have made fully functional by adding a 15 volt DC supply and a Ring supply. Everything works. I added a punchdown block internally with an interface connector, 25 pair. Then I attached a 25 foot long interface cable to yet another punchdown block, which now interfaces with 12 RJ keystones.

Further, I hard-wired various old phones; a 50's WE payphone, a space saver phone with an external bell, a "beehive" Leich phone, no dial with a crank, a Kellogg Masterphone with separate subset and crank, couple of 500 series desk phones, a 554 wall phone, an old 303, and a couple others - 11 in all. Every one of them work with the switchboard and all of them ring. The Kellogg is set up as an "incoming" line, so when I crank the phone, the incoming line 1 lights.

Now I want to add a dial tone so when anyone picks up any of the phones, they get the tone. Soliciting advice from an extremely helpful member here, I was directed to a site that published a schematic for a dial tone circuit. I then designed and printed a small PC board with a built-on voltage regulator and now have a source for a dial tone. It will fit easily inside the switchboard.

So.

What do I need to do to provide a dial tone on any phone that's plugged into the switchboard? And where on the switchboard do I route the dial tone signal? It doesn't have to actually work as if the CO sent the tone, so I can switch it off at will if needed, but I'd like to have it at least sound like a phone when you take it off-hook. Possibly attach it to line 2 of the incoming trunk?

Any help or comments deeply appreciated.