News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

WE 202 and 634A subset (I think)

Started by Rbjoep, March 11, 2015, 08:02:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Rbjoep

Hello - Please forgive me but this is my first attempt at fixing/wiring an antique telephone (not to mention my first post) .  I recently purchased a Western Electric 202 with a 634A subset (at least that is what I was told I was purchasing) and really need help with the correct wiring.  I thought I had it last weekend as I was able to talk on the phone and the ringer worked, however every time I dialed a number I received the "number not in service"  or "you call cannot be connected as dialed". I had wired with a modular plug so I switched back to 4 prong and now nothing works.   So here are the questions - First should I keep the 4 prong plug or should I rewire for modular?  Either of the options I still need help in correctly wiring so that I can actually use the phone.  Any help is greatly appreciated.

Rbjoep

Hello - Please forgive me but this is my first attempt at fixing/wiring an antique telephone (not to mention my first post) .  I recently purchased a Western Electric 202 with a 634A subset (at least that is what I was told I was purchasing) and really need help with the correct wiring.  I thought I had it last weekend as I was able to talk on the phone and the ringer worked, however every time I dialed a number I received the "number not in service"  or "you call cannot be connected as dialed". I had wired with a modular plug so I switched back to 4 prong and now nothing works.   So here are the questions - First should I keep the 4 prong plug or should I rewire for modular?  Either of the options I still need help in correctly wiring so that I can actually use the phone.  Any help is greatly appreciated.

unbeldi