News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Northern Electric QSD-3A Restoration

Started by novice57, February 24, 2013, 10:31:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

novice57

Hi everybody....love this place and all the info that you guys provide. To say I'm a newbie/novice/greenhorn at phone restoration/collecting would be a vast understatement!!!! So when I ask stupid questions (which I'm sure they all will be), please don't laugh!!! OK,go ahead laugh I won't hear you! I'm not a collector as such (yet) but I just love old phones. All I have so far are a NE 554, a princess phone and what I consider a gem...a NE QSD-3A which was given to me by a buddy some time ago that I only now got around to really paying attention to! Now I'll cut to the chase...because I have NO knowledge of pay phones, and I want this converted for home use so bad, I'm looking for some (a lot) of help!! I've taken some pics and sent them to someone who told me all I'd need is a modular line cord. I thought great, now what connections do I make and to which terminals. (this is where you guys can start laughing). Hopefully someone can set me straight by letting me know what I would need and which connections to use to make this useable as a home phone. From the other pics I've seen of phones similar to this, it seems to be intact inside. (what do I know,right) I live in a small rural community so there are not many people familiar with payphone restoration. (yep...me included). Though I would love to have it ring and have ALL the bells and whistles working, just to be able to make calls would be a great start!! I've read about the sub-sets and networks and initially it was mind boggling at first, but it's starting to sink in a little bit. (laugh again)!!  Anyway..sorry to leave such a long-winded message. Just looking for some help.  I'll post some pics and hopefully they will give you guys something to