News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

WE green 202 Help

Started by RobertF, November 18, 2010, 09:41:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RobertF

Hi, My name is Robert.  I am new to phones and the forum. I found this phone at a flea market and was wondering if it was original or painted green by someone other than the phone company or factory. It has a D1 on the base, F1 on the handset and 6-51 5H on the inside of the dial. What do you guys think? I was thinking of painting it black but did not want to ruin it if it was original. Thanks

Phonesrfun

Welcome to the forum, Robert.  Definitely not an original paint job, since the phone company would not have painted it with the hookswitch pile-up still in the body of the phone.  The cords are a much later variety, and it is not wired correctly for use with a subset.  You need a subset on a 202 to make it work correctly.  Looks like it is wired to put the transmitter and receiver directly in series with the line.  While this will work, it risks damaging the receiver element over time, and there will be very loud popping noises in the receiver when you go on and off hook or others answer or hang up.

The phone company also did not paint the dial finger wheels.  They were usually black and in some cases on the later Continental models they were sometimes brushed aluminum. 

All that being said, it is a keeper and is very much able to either be used as a nice conversation piece (no pun intended) or to be rebuilt to a regular black 202 with fabric reproduction cords and a subset.

Subsets can be bought on e-Bay and other places and I think a going price that a collector would pay for a run of the mill subset would be about $40 or so.  The proper subset for that phone would be a 634 or 684.  The later 684 would probably be cheaper and be smaller.  There are also ways of making a subset from the base of a 302 and even a 500.