News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Red 1970 Trimline, $3

Started by Futuralon, December 05, 2017, 03:45:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Futuralon

Irresistible at that price, no? Here are pictures https://imgur.com/a/EME6y Wall end has broken wires so I need to add a connector before I can test it. I optimistically believe this phone was set aside when the owner's home first got modular sockets, no idea why it took until 2017 to show up in a thrift store. Lucky me!

I am looking for a wiring diagram of the Trimline.

My first question: is that an incandescent light bulb? I have no experience with old LEDs but my google-fu indicates it's not an LED.

Ktownphoneco

Try the Telephone Collectors International (TCI) library here, and pick your model, "ADI", etc., etc.  :  http://www.telephonecollectors.info/index.php/browse/wiring-diagrams/western-electric/trimline/2235-trimline-telephones-ad1base-tl

Jeff Lamb

poplar1

Quote from: Futuralon on December 05, 2017, 03:45:47 PM
My first question: is that an incandescent light bulb? I have no experience with old LEDs but my google-fu indicates it's not an LED.

Western Electric Touch-Tone Trimlines:
       with round buttons = Incandescent Dial Lamp (on black and white leads of line cord) -- requires 6-8 Volts AC
       with square buttons = LED (line-powered)

Western Electric Rotary Dial Trimlines:
       "LED" on face of dial = line powered LED. Otherwise, incandescent.
"C'est pas une restauration, c'est une rénovation."--François Martin.

Jim Stettler

Quote from: poplar1 on December 05, 2017, 05:30:34 PM
Western Electric Touch-Tone Trimlines:
       with round buttons = Incandescent Dial Lamp (on black and white leads of line cord) -- requires 6-8 Volts AC
       with square buttons = LED (line-powered)

Western Electric Rotary Dial Trimlines: