News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

Muscle Car Build Sheet Story

Started by HarrySmith, January 25, 2018, 05:58:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

HarrySmith

I worked as a mechanic for many years, found a few build sheets for special order cars, interesting stuff. My story is about a friend of mine & my brother. He was a friend who lived down the street. Used to "play" with my brother, then he grew up and got interested in cars. He worked at an International Truck dealer as a mechanic. Someone traded in a 1970 Chevelle SS in gold with the black racing stripes. It was a 4 speed big block. This guy at 17 bought it for a song, his Dad ran the shop! Of course he trashed it, blew the engine, put in a junkyard engine. same thing with the transmission & the differential. Then he had a small crash, ran into the back of a car at a light, not paying attention. He had cut up the dash to put in a radio and then decided to recover the interior in a pink fur! I refused to help so he did most of it. He was having a problem getting the back seat out so I helped him with that. We found the build sheet under the back sheet. Every single thing in that car was a special order! The car was a one of one! They never built another car with those exact options. I do not recall all the details, it was around 42 years ago, the engine was special high performance, custom Muncie 4 speed, special differential gearing. No a/c or radio. The list goes on & on. He cried like a baby and I laughed till it hurt!
Harry Smith
ATCA 4434
TCI

"There is no try,
there is only
do or do not"

WEBellSystemChristian

I know a few guys like that. Okay, a LOT of guys like that!