News:

"The phone is a remarkably complex, simple device,
and very rarely ever needs repairs, once you fix them." - Dan/Panther

Main Menu

AE 90 will dial in one house, but not an older house. Wont ring in either.

Started by coffeeguy, June 30, 2015, 11:11:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

coffeeguy

Hello everyone. Noob here, I am good with tools and wires, etc....As my name might suggest, I fixed vending machines for many years when a brewed coffee cost 10 cents and a pack of smokes was 35 cents.

I have a project for a customer. They have an AE 90 wall phone.

Here is what I know.

I wired a RJ11 jack (4pin) and used the green and red (tip and ring) to the 10 and 8 respectively. The diagram calls for a ground, but I am not certain which wire to use. I tested in a newer home and the following >>>>>

The dial works, (this home waqs bulit in the early 90's) no ring.  I found a hint on the forum about moving the 9 black ringer wire to 6 or 8. NO luck.

The house where the dial and ring wont work was built in the 20s.
I have a picture of the wall jack wiring in the 20's house where a touch tone phone works fine.
However, it has a Pulse switch on it and when place on that setting it too will not dial. Just a continuous dial tone.

The jack in the older house is wired as follows
Green supply is terminated
Yellow supply goes to red
Black supply goes to green
Red supply is terminated

Black and yellow at the female connector are not used

Here are some pics of the circuit board and wall jack in the old house.

After the dial is solved, the ringer is next. I suspect its the Ground, but I am not old enough to be an old telephone guy.

Thank you for any and all help

There is a PS here. I also have a pic of the back side of a 6 pin connector in the old house (only four used). I am not certain they are in the right order.

andre_janew